Fans select Softball All-Decade Team

  • Alt Text for Image
    Alt Text for Image

With the recent success that the Louisiana Tech Lady Techster softball program has had it is no surprise that the all-decade team voted on by fans is loaded with players from the past five years.

Prior to a virus-shortened 2020 season, LA Tech softball had recorded five straight years of 30-plus wins, including three Conference USA championships and a pair of trips to the NCAA Regional.

Fans recognized the recent success and rewarded many of the student-athletes who played a huge role in it. More than 1,400 ballots were cast for the all-decade team.

Pitcher Krystal De La Cruz (1000 votes/70.2 percent), outfielder Morgan Turkoly (994/69.8%), outfielder Jazlyn Crowder (991/69.6%), catcher Marilyn Rizzato (899/63.1%), utility Anna Cross (895/62.9%), utility Pauline Tufi (851/59.8%), shortstop Katie Smith (789/55.4%), outfielder Kristen Miles (769/54.0%), pitcher Preslee Gallaway (704/49.4%), and utility Kimmie Atienza (659/46.3%) all earned a spot on the team comprised of players who starred on the diamond in a Lady Techster uniform between 2011 and 2020.