GSU’s Ivy Smith, Jr. named BOXTOROW D1 All-American

  • Alt Text for Image
    Alt Text for Image

Grambling State University senior point guard Ivy Smith, Jr. was recently named Boxtorow Second Team All-American. This adds to his impressive resume as he was named First Team All-SWAC in recent weeks, leading the Southwestern Athletic Conference in both steals and assists per game. The Tacoma, Wash. native also finished second in the conference in minutes per game.

Hampton guard Jermaine Marrow has been named BOXTOROW Division I National Player of the Year for the second year in a row. Marrow, a senior from Newport News, Va., finished fourth in Division I in scoring, averaging 24.8 points per game, and 11th in assists per game (6.5). He was the only player in Division I in the top 15 in both categories. Marrow helped lead the Pirates to a fifth place finish in their second season in the Big South Conference and a finals appearance in the championship game. Marrow becomes the first player to repeat as winner in the awards history.

North Carolina A&T acting head coach Will Jones and Tennessee State head coach Brian “Penny” Collins have been named BOXTOROW Coaches of the Year. Jones took on the roll as acting head coach in late December and led the Aggies to a 17-15 overall record and a second place finish in the MEAC. His record after taking over the program was 14-5. Collins, in his second year, led one of the best turnarounds in Division I, as the Tigers finished the season 18- 15, 9-9 in OVC play. The Tigers had been invited to play in the College Invitational Tournament (CIT). TSU went 9-21 during the 2018-19 season.

Ten schools are represented on the 2020 BOXTOROW Division I men’s college basketball All-America teams. BOXTOROW has administered the All-America team since 2009.